Ottawa ice fishing derby

The 2011 PIIFA Ice Fishing Derby

The 2011 PIIFA Ice Fishing Derby a great success!

The snow squalls cleared in time for the 2nd Annual PIIFA Invitational Ice Fishing Derby held in Petrie Island's Baitshop Bay on Saturday, February 12, 2011. Near perfect weather conditions contributed to where we almost doubled the attendance of the first derby at 88 contestants.

A great time was had by everyone but fishing was not ideal on this day and not many fish were caught. Unlike the first derby, there were no lunkers caught and there was no storybook finish. Winners included Joey Chaput with 3.9 pound northern pike in the largest fish category. Len Porquet won the largest panfish category with an 11.5" perch and Ryland won in the category of smallest legally caught fish with a perch measuring in at just 6.25".

Congrats also to Rollande Lanthier for her win in the draw. Thanks to everyone who participated in the event and thanks to the individuals and organizations who donated prizes for the event. A great big thanks goes out to Big Jim McLaughlin who showed up totally unannounced to donate door prizes and giveaways for all the participants.

All profits from the event will be donated to CHEO in the name of PIIFA at their next telethon. Check out the complete list of sponsors and donors below.

Photos from the 2011 PIIFA Derby

2011 PIIFA Derby Sponsors and Supporters

These are some of the great people and organizations who offered support through their generous donations for this year's derby. We hope to see them back next year. Voici les entreprises qui ont offert leur support avec des dons généreux pour le tournoi 2011. Nous espérons les revoir l'an prochain.

...and the individuals who helped make this event possible with their time and donations: Louis Cloutier, Bob Gregoire, Alan Heaney, Billy Hum, Guy Jolivet, Marc Joly, Marc Leclair, Allan Macintyre, Francine Martin and Ronald Zinn. …et les individus qui ont contribué leur temps et leur dons à cet événement: Louis Cloutier, Bob Grégoire, Alan Heaney, Billy Hum, Guy Jolivet, Marc Joly, Marc Leclair, Allan Macintyre, Francine Martin et Ronald Zinn.